Henrico County VA

Henrico County News

Register for the Henrico Citizen’s Business and Branding Summit

Would your business like to do more business in Henrico? Would you like to learn marketing methods to reach a hyper-local customer base or learn more about business and personal branding techniques?

Then you won't want to miss the Henrico Citizen's Business and Branding Summit, Nov. 12 at 11 a.m. at Mercedes-Benz of Richmond, 8225 W. Broad Street.

This free, no-obligation informational event will provide insight and ideas from local branding and marketing professionals and the Henrico Citizen team. You'll also have a chance to network with other local business leaders and professionals.
> Read more.

Henrico man named national commander, CEO of Civil Air Patrol

A Henrico man has been sworn in as the new national commander and CEO of the Civil Air Patrol.

Maj. Gen. Joe Vazquez of Henrico was sworn in Aug. 15 at the organization's 2014 national conference.

“It will be my privilege to lead the team of national staff, wing and region commanders who make CAP simply the best nonprofit corporation in the country today,” said Vazquez, minutes after taking the guidon as national commander. > Read more.

Babe Ruth World Series arrives in Henrico

Brookland District Supervisor Dick Glover gives the opening address during opening ceremonies for the Babe Ruth 13-year-old World Series Friday, Aug. 15 at Glen Allen Stadium at RF&P Park, while the host team from Glen Allen looks on.


The 10-team tournament began today and will continue throughout the week. Teams will play four games in pool play before beginning the single-elimination portion of the tournament. Glen Allen plays:

• Saturday, Aug. 16 at 7 p.m. against Nederland, Tex.; > Read more.

River Road entrance at UR Drive to reopen Aug. 16

The River Road entrance to the University of Richmond at UR Drive will reopen on Saturday, Aug. 16. > Read more.

ChildFund’s influence spreads globally


In 1938, a Presbyterian minister from Richmond, Dr. J. Calvitt Clarke, created a campaign to help Chinese children orphaned during the Second Sino-Japanese war. He connected donors on a one-to-one basis with children through “adoptions.”

Today, his model has grown into an international organization – ChildFund International – that serves 18.1 million people in 30 countries in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe.

Acting on its growing understanding of what works for children, ChildFund moved from running orphanages to helping families and communities fight poverty at its roots. > Read more.

Henrico County property transactions, July 21-27


4200 Columbus Drive – $105,000, 1,406 SF (built in 1954), from Charles H. and Shirley G. Perry to Anthony J. and Hyla F. Caton.
118 S. Kalmia Avenue – $124,842, 1,372 SF (built in 1964), from Crystal M and C.D.W. Tyson to Household Realty Corporation.
11400 Old Mountain Road – $140,000, 960 SF (built in 1959), from Stephen D. Colvin to Mary E. Siddons.
4601 Four Seasons Terrace, Unit E – $160,000, 1,490 SF (built in 1987), from Pamela Ann Bello to Cabell M. Edmunds.
2904 Oakley Pointe Way – $205,000, 1,494 SF (built in 1996), from Francine L. Gottlieb to Yuk and Mei Yung.
4940 Old Main Street, Unit 502 – $261,000, 1,722 SF (built in 2007), from Fall Line LLC to Robert B. and Patricia L. Atkinson. > Read more.

Page 22 of 473 pages ‹ First  < 20 21 22 23 24 >  Last ›

Community

Tuckahoe YMCA receives $7k donation from Kiwanis Club

The Tuckahoe Family YMCA recently received a $7,000 donation from the Tuckahoe Kiwanis Club. The money was raised during the group’s eighth annual golf tournament and will help the Y continue its programs for youth development, healthy living and social responsibility.

The donation is the organization’s way of giving back to the community it serves, Kiwanis Club of Tuckahoe Tournament Director Bland Weaver said. > Read more.

Weekend Top 10


Have you had enough of crowds and long lines? Take a break at two beautiful places in Henrico – Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden and Lavender Fields Herb Farm. If you’re still reeling from those awkward Thanksgiving conversations, Don “DC” Curry is ready to provide some laughs at the Richmond Funny Bone. For all our top picks, click here! > Read more.

Adriana Trigiani named 2013 ‘All Henrico Reads’ author

The Henrico County Public Library, in partnership with Henrico County Public Schools and the Friends of Henrico County Public Library, will host New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani on Wednesday, April 24, from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at Glen Allen High School, 10700 Staples Mill Rd., as part of its annual All Henrico Reads program.

The featured title – Trigiani's novel The Shoemaker’s Wife – will be available for sale, as well as some of her other novels. She will autograph books following the program. > Read more.

Page 36 of 118 pages ‹ First  < 34 35 36 37 38 >  Last ›

Entertainment

Weekend Top 10


Fans of Lewis Ginter and Crossroads Art Center are in for a treat because both are free this weekend! The 2014 Richmond Lunar New Year Festival is also gratis, as is the Mind + Body Meetup in Short Pump on Sunday. For all our top picks this weekend, click here! > Read more.

Weekend Top 10

A wide variety of events await Henrico residents this weekend! Varina Library will have child safety information available and Tuckahoe Library will offer style tips for ages 40+. The Latin Ballet of Virginia, the Shady Grove Coffeehouse and University of Richmond’s Modlin Center for the Arts all provide nighttime entertainment. For all our top picks this weekend, click here! > Read more.

Glen Allen’s party-starter

JJ’s Grille offers comfort, entertainment

The dance party (mostly for Baby Boomers) was on during a recent Saturday night at JJ’s Grille on Staples Mill Road in Glen Allen. An hour before the start of the live music at 8 p.m., it was difficult to get in and sit down at a table to have a bite before the party.

When the five members of the featured band “The English Channel” arrived they were greeted like friends and people started to drift towards the small area near the window front of the grill that later served as a dance floor. And when the band started the first of its 1960s and ‘70s pop tunes, the dance floor was filled in an eye blink. It stayed like this for the whole set – two hours of Beatles, Rolling Stones and other sing-along and dance-along tunes pleasantly presented with skill and perfect volume for the now-small space. > Read more.

Page 36 of 103 pages ‹ First  < 34 35 36 37 38 >  Last ›







 

Reader Survey | Advertising | Email updates

Classifieds

Highspeed Internet EVERYWHERE By Satellite! Speeds up to 12mbps! (200x faster than dial-up.) Starting at $49.95/mo. CALL NOW & GO FAST! 1-888-685-2016
Full text

Place an Ad | More Classifieds

Calendar

Virginia Center Commons invites all little ghouls, goblins and boo’tiful princesses to the Kidgits Spooktacular from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in the food court. For details, visit http://www.facebook.com/VirginiaCenterCommons Full text

Your weather just got better.

Henricopedia

Henrico's Top Teachers